TSC Sports and Entertainment.Com

Sports,Celebrities, and Entertainment

Staying in Shape with Dance Fitness

Posted by TSUE on June 25, 2008

Who hasn’t been guilty of indulging in the occasional summer treat…ball park hotdogs, mom’s apple pie, ice cream cones that melt all over your hand or my biggest weakeness – Pillsbury sugar cookies! My lack of willpower has led to a couple of extra pounds and I am determined to take it off with my FAVORITE form of exercise, dance fitness classes. This is the perfect solution for those of you who hate the repetitiveness of running on a treadmill for 30 minutes or who are tired of your mom’s 1992 step aerobics classes! Dance fitness is just that – one hour classes of cardio intense dance choreography!

I first learned of these classes over the radio when I heard an ad for “Dance Trance,” a studio in Jacksonville that offered dance focused aerobics classes. I was especially drawn to the term “club style lighting” and tried my first class roughly two years ago! Of all the dance and aerobics classes I have taken in my life, I have to admit that I have never enjoyed a workout so much. The lights were dimmed, the illuminated disco balls came on, the temperature in the studio was increased and then the music started pumping. A host of very talented dance instructors lined up across the front and the dancing began! Each song, from Usher to Beyonce to Seether, had its own choreographed dance and with very little instruction, the idea was to just catch on! It’s normal to stumble thru an eight-count at first but once you master the routine, it’s an amazing feeling and an even better workout. I started making the hour long journey out to the beach each week and was in the best shape of my life – it’s the perfect dancer’s workout! Soon after, I got certified to teach Zumba, the Latin inspired dance fitness craze, but quickly found myself busy with a new job and fell of the dance fitness train.

Well I’m back! After receiving an email from Dance Trance about their latest class, “Urban Ballet” that starts next month, I’ve decided to reboard the fitness train and get back to my dancing roots! (If nothing else, my mother will be delighted that I’m in my toe shoes again.) Urban ballet is apparently the “funked” up version of traditional ballet that incorporates Top 40 music with choreography, stretching and strengthening exercises. This is exactly what I need to jump start my dancing again! If you’ve seen one of my favorite movies Center Stage, I’m sure you remember the scene where a host of dancers all come together in perfect choreographed sequence to split leap across the floor to the song “Higher Ground.” Stay tuned to see if I become a prima ballerina or if the Pillsbury Dough Boy becomes my late night dance partner!

Leave a Reply

 
